Beginning July 13, Motor Vehicle non-renewal transactions, Marriage Licenses & Real Property Record Searching, will begin being processed through a limited amount of socially-distanced in-person appointments. Before you reserve your appointment, READ THIS PAGE ENTIRELY AND SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION PRIOR TO YOUR APPOINTMENT.
How to Apply :
- Fill out the Marriage License Application for both parties interested in getting married
- Mailing Address: Summit County Clerk & Recorder / Attn: Recording / P.O. Box 1538 / Breckenridge, CO 80424
- Drop Box: Located outside of the Old County Courthouse at 208 Lincoln Avenue / Breckenridge, CO 80424
- Emailing these documents containing sensitive PII is encouraged only if you have the ability to encrypt before sending to: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Once a completed application is received, a Recording staff member will contact the submitting party to set up a Zoom appointment to review the application, IDs and discuss how to fill out the Certificate portion of the License
- In-person transactions are not conducted
- Civil Ceremony: Overseen by a judge, retired judge, magistrate or another official certified to oversee and solemnize marriages. To set up an appointment with a Summit County Court judge, you’ll need to make an appointment in advance by calling (970) 453-2272 or visiting the Clerk of Courts window at the Justice Center at 501 North Park Avenue during business hours. The judge will perform your ceremony and sign the Marriage Certificate.
- Religious Ceremony: Overseen by any ordained individual. Click here for a list of Officiants that we know of, or you can contact a local church of your choice. The Officiant will perform your ceremony and sign the Marriage Certificate. If you have an Ordained Officiant of your choice from outside of Colorado, there are no requirements/paperwork/certifications for your Marriage License application with our office. They do not need to be present at the time of application, we will provide the applicants (the couple) with a sample to show the Officiant how to sign the Colorado Marriage License properly.
- Self-Solemnization: Overseen by the parties to the marriage themselves, without an Officiant or Judge. This can be explained in further detail when you arrive to apply for your License.
- Do not need to be present at time of application
- Proof of ordination is not required by Summit County for their Wedding Officiant
- Not required in the State of Colorado
- There are two lines on the License for optional Witnesses
- There are no blood test prerequisites in Colorado
- There is no waiting period to obtain a Marriage License
- You can only obtain a Marriage License within 35 days prior to your ceremony date, and must return the License for recording within 63 days after the ceremony date for recording to the Clerk & Recorder where you applied for your License
Hours of Operation:
- Mondays through Fridays staff are working a combination of remotely and on-site, so turnaround time will take longer than usual
- The Clerk & Recorder is NOT open or staffed on weekends
- 2020 Holiday Office Closures:
Independence Day - July 4
Labor Day - September 7
Indigenous Peoples' Day (formerly known as Columbus Day) - October 12
Election Day (General Election) - November 3
Veterans' Day - November 11
Thanksgiving Day & Day After - November 26 & 27
Christmas Eve - December 24 (open 8am-12pm, closed in afternoon)
Christmas Day - December 25
Marriage applications and requirements in Spanish - tenemos aplicaciones y requisitos del matrimonio en Español.
Requesting Additional Certified Copies
If you were issued a Colorado Marriage License from Summit County, e-mail our office with the following information to request additional certified copies for $3.00 each:
- FULL NAMES OF BOTH PARTIES (If one party had a maiden name at the time, please indicate that name for that party).
- DATE OF CEREMONY
- RECEPTION # (if you have it)
- YOUR PHONE NUMBER (we will contact you for payment and mailing purposes)
Common Law MarriageIf you’re looking for information on Common Law Marriage in Colorado, click here to go to the Colorado Attorney General’s website for further details. If you need an affidavit, click here. If you’d like to record the affidavit in our office, visit us during business hours. Standard recording fees will apply. Note the affidavit needs to be signed in the presence of a Notary with verifiable photo ID. We have Notaries on staff here at our office.