Summit County Small Business Assistance Grants
Summit County Small Business Assistance Grants are now closed. Grant awards and fund disbursements will be made no later than February 19, 2021.
Summit County received notification from the Colorado Department of Local Affairs that the County would be the recipient of Small Business Relief funds. These funds were authorized through the Special Legislative Session in early December, and made available to eligible counties, and the municipalities within those counties. Summit County is partnering with the towns of Breckenridge, Dillon, Frisco and Silverthorne in the delivery of these funds. This program is targeted at those local businesses struggling with the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic and State mandated severe capacity restrictions. 5 Star certified businesses meeting the program category and eligibility criteria are able to participate in the program.
Eligible business categories include:
- Bars (includes establishments like a Winery, Brewery or Distillery)
- Movie Theatres
- Gyms & Recreation Centers
- For unincorporated Summit County, the application can be accessed at
- If your business is located within the boundaries of one of our towns, please follow one of the below link to complete the correct application
- Breckenridge: https://breckenridge-tuition-assistance.fluidreview.com/
- Dillon: https://app.smartsheet.com/b/form/7108eab2ac474533a31c624a84e2194c
- Frisco: https://www.friscogov.com/homepage-news/applications-opened-today-for-the-frisco-colorado-small-business-relief-grant-program/
- Silverthorne: email, firstname.lastname@example.org, for an application
It is the goal of Summit County and our partner municipalities to move quickly to get this support to eligible businesses. The application and review process will occur within the town in which your business is located or with Summit County if your business is located in an unincorporated area such as Keystone, Copper or Wildernest. To speed the review and distribution of funds please verify your business location and apply to that local government.
Available Funds and Eligibility
The program includes $591,709 in grant funds, available to eligible businesses. The program eligibility requirements were established by the State Legislature, and include:
- A minimum of 20% revenue loss since March 26, 2020 due to the restrictions imposed on the business under the Governor’s Executive Order D 2020 017, ordering Coloradoans to stay at home, and the CDPHE Amended Public Health Order 20-24 implementing stay at home requirements, OR that the business opened between January 1, 2020 and March 26, 2020.
- Currently operating within Summit County’s geographic boundary.
- Valid business license and in good standing with issuing agency or a Certificate of Good Standing.
- Verification of Colorado Income Tax Account Number or Tax Exempt Certificate number.
- An affirmation of intent to operate in the state for at least six months.
- An affirmation that the business is in compliance with all public health orders.
- Qualifies as a “Small Business” by meeting the following criteria:
- Has its headquarters and is doing business in Colorado,
- Has at least one full-time employee, OR, is a sole proprietorship, and
- For a small business that was operating before January 1, 2020, had annual receipts of less than $2.5 million for the 2019 calendar year, and
- For a small business that began operating on or after January 1, 2020, and on or before March 26, 2020, had annual receipts of less than $2.5 million.
The legislation creating the program sets forth tiered relief payment caps, based on the business receipts (sales or revenue) from 2019, in the following fashion. However, grant amounts cannot be determined until the total number of eligible applicant businesses is finalized.
Maximum payment amounts based on the legislation are:
• Receipts less than $500,000 = $3,500
• Receipts greater than $500,000 but less than $1 million = $5,000
• Receipts greater than $1 million but less than $2.5 million = $7,000