Child Support Services
The goal of the Colorado Child Support Services Program is to assure that all children receive financial and medical support from both parents. The Child Support Services Unit (CSS) provides services for establishing paternity and support obligations and enforcing child support payments.
Apply online for child support services! The Colorado Child Support Services (CSS) Program has launched a streamlined application that's available 24/7 - apply online anywhere, any time. Get started today.
Starting a Child Support Services Case
The State of Colorado Child Support Services Application for Services is required to open a case. Applications can be picked up in person (360 Peak One Dr., Suite 230, Frisco, CO 80443), sent by mail or can be downloaded from the State of Colorado website at State of Colorado Child Support. CSS also requires an initial intake interview with a Legal Case Specialist at the CSS office. Appointments can be made by calling the CSS office at 970-668-9161.
Documents required at the time of the interview are:
- Copies of state issued birth certificate for all children
- Copies of social security cards for all children
- A photo ID of the person applying for services (drivers license, state ID, etc.)
- A photograph of other party (if available)
- Verifications of applicant income (3 most current paystubs and tax returns)
- Copy of Marriage Certificate (if applicable)
- Copies of any court orders signed by a judge or magistrate relating to the child support case
- Allocation of Parental Responsibility orders (if applicable)
- Petition and/or Divorce Decree and/or Separation Agreement
- Copies of medical insurance cards for children (if applicable)
- The application fee is $20.00 and due at the time of the initial interview. The applicant may request that the fee be waived when it presents financial hardship. Colorado Works (TANF) recipients will automatically be referred to the CSS office and will not be required to pay the application fee.
- A $25.00 Intercept Processing Fee will be deducted from intercepted payments.
- A $25.00 Arrears Processing Fee will be deducted every federal fiscal year once $500.00 has been paid to the custodial parent. This fee only applies to cases that are not currently receiving public assistance.
Visit the CSS website. to find information on the following services
- How to create an online account to view specific information on your child support case
- How and when to request changes to a child support order
- Different ways to make and receive child support payments
- Frequently asked questions about child support in Colorado
Financial Support Order Establishment- Establishing child support both administratively and judicially. Colorado has a law that explains the formula used to determine the amount of child support that will be ordered. The Colorado guidelines consider the following when calculating the child support payment.
- The parents’ combined adjusted gross income
- The amount of overnights exercised by both parties
- The needs of the child in terms of extraordinary medical expenses and work-related daycare
- Credits for payments on other child support or spousal support orders
Establishing Paternity- Fatherhood must be legally recognized in order to obtain a child support order. The two ways to establish paternity are:
- Establishing paternity through voluntary acknowledgment
- Establishing paternity through legal action with genetic testing
Locate Absent Parents- Locating absent parents using a number of state and federal databases.
Sources utilized by CSS are:
- Department of Labor and Employment
- Division of Motor Vehicles
- US Postal Service
- Financial References
- Parole, Probation and Police Records
- Public Assistance Offices
- Internet Locate Site
- National Directory of New Hire
- Social Security Administration
- Internal Revenue Service
Enforcement-Summit County will enforce court-ordered child support orders until all obligations are satisfied. Enforcement remedies utilized by CSS are:
- Income Assignments against Employment Wages
- New Hiring Reporting
- Income Assignments against Unemployment Compensation Benefits
- Income Assignments against Worker’s Compensation Benefits Intercepts
- Driver’s License Suspension
- Professional Occupational License Suspension
- Recreational License Suspension
- Passport Denial
- Federal and State Tax Offset
- Financial Institution Data Match
- Lottery Winnings Intercept/Gambling Payment Intercept
- Credit Bureau Reporting
Review and Adjustments
Review and Adjustments can be requested by either party that has an opened enforcement case with CSS. A detailed written request must be submitted to the CSE office with income verifications. The timeframe for a review and adjustment is approximately three to six months from the time the request is received.
Request for reviews will be processed for following reasons:
- An increase or decrease in either parties’ income
- Medical insurance coverage changes
- Increase or decrease in child care
- Parenting time changes
- Emancipation of a child on the order
- If it has been three years since the order was established or reviewed.
Mail payments to:
Family Support Registry
PO Box 2171
Denver, CO 80201-2171