Summit County Emergency Blog

Emergency blog
Activated during disasters and emergencies to provide critical public information. Administered by the Summit County Office of Emergency Management.

View All Posts

Mar 18

Reminder: All Ski Areas in Colorado Are Closed, By Order of the Governor

Posted on March 18, 2020 at 5:58 PM by Julie Sutor

With a winter storm rolling in tonight, Summit County reminds the public that Colorado Gov. Jared Polis closed all ski areas in the state, effective March 15, including Breckenridge Ski Resort, Arapahoe Basin Ski Area, Keystone Ski Resort and Copper Mountain.

This means there is no ski patrol or avalanche mitigation work, no maintenance for recreational use, and no medical services at the ski areas. Ski patrollers are not marking hazards or monitoring snow surface conditions. Without avalanche mitigation work taking place at the ski areas, risk of avalanche may be higher. Even a small avalanche can cause injuries, and ski patrol rescue will not be available.

Ski facilities such as restrooms and lodges are closed and inaccessible. All ski area facilities are private property, and it is unlawful to enter them when closed.