
Commercial 

Personal Property 

Q & A 

WHAT ABOUT MY TAXES? 

PLEASE NOTE: 

Colorado law requires the Assessor to physically 

inspect Personal Property in the county on a regu-

lar basis. This policy ensures all taxpayers receive 

a just and equalized valuation. Business owners 

may be contacted in advance before an appraiser 

visits the business. Your co-operation is greatly 

appreciated.   

Contact Information 

Colorado Division of Property Taxation 

1313 Sherman Street Room 419 

Denver, CO 80203 

(303) 864-7777

www.colorado.gov/dola/property-taxation 

For info on operating a business in CO contact: 

Secretary of State—Business Division 

1700 Broadway, Suite 200 

Denver, CO 80209 

(303) 894-2200

www.sos.state.co.us 

The Assessor’s Office determines       

VALUE.  Tax bills and the collection of 

taxes are the responsibility of the       

Treasurer’s Office.   

Their phone number is (970) 453-3440. 

Summit County Treasurer 

208 Lincoln Ave 

PO Box 289 

Breckenridge, CO 80424 

Phone: (970) 453-3440 

Email:  treasurer@summitcountyco.gov 

www.summitcountyco.gov 

You will receive the tax bill in January of the 
following year. The taxes depend on the total 
value of the personal property.  

Here’s an example: 

Total depreciated value of the business 
equipment reported on the yellow form: 

$20,000 

Multiply the total value by the assessment 
rate which is 29%.  Convert the percentage 
to a decimal by moving the decimal two plac-
es to the left.  This will give you the assessed 
value. 

$20,000 x .29 = $5,800 (assessed value) 

Multiply the assessed value by the mill levy 
for your tax district (which changes yearly).  
For this example we will use a mill levy of 
66.908.  Mill levies are based on 1,000, so 
move the decimal point three places to the 
left. 

$5,800 x .066908 = $388.07 

In this example, the total taxes due are 

$388.07 

Summit County Assessor’s Office 
208 Lincoln Ave 

PO Box 276 
Breckenridge, CO 80424

www.summitcountyco.gov 
personalproperty@summitcountyco.gov 

970-453-3480
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Taxable Personal Property includes 

equipment, machinery, furniture, security 

devices, and signage which is used in the 

operation of a business. Colorado Statute 

defines Personal Property as everything 

that is  subject of ownership that is not 

Real     Property.  Equipment maybe ei-

ther affixed or not affixed to the Real 

Property used for the function of the busi-

ness. 

WHAT IS  

PERSONAL 

PROPERTY? 

THE BIG YELLOW FORM…. 

Every February the Assessor’s Office will 
mail a Personal Property Declaration Schedule to all    
businesses in the county.   

Please use the form to list all personal 
property owned by the business, the year it was 
acquired and how much it cost at that time. This 
includes the cost plus sales tax, delivery and instal-
lation at the time of acquisition.   

The first time completing the form is the 
most challenging because it is an empty page. How-
ever, every year afterwards the form will arrive with 
the list provided by you already printed on it.   

At this point all you have to do is check the 
list, cross off items that have been disposed of, and 
add new items. 

PLEASE NOTE: 
It is to your benefit to return this form on time. 

If the declaration is not returned on time there     
is a penalty of $50 or 15% of the taxes due,     

whichever is less.  

We will give you an extension on the filing date if we 
receive your request in writing accompanied by a 

check for $20 if you need a 10 day extension or $40 
if you need a 20 day extension. Your request must 

be postmarked by April 15th to be valid. 

WHY DO I  HAVE TO TELL 

THE ASSESSOR ABOUT MY 

PERSONAL PROPERTY? 

Colorado Statute has established a personal 

property tax, which is assessed on all the 

equipment a business uses in the operation 

of the business.  It’s the Assessor’s job to 

ensure that property valuations are fair,    

equitable and current by annually asking 

businesses to list all furniture, fixtures,      

machinery and equipment.  This includes the 

cost plus sales tax, delivery and installation at 

the time of acquisition.  The Assessor then 

uses this information along with the State 

depreciation tables to determine a taxable 

value.  It is the responsibility of the business 

to provide an accurate and complete list to 

the Assessor.  

WHAT IF I NEED HELP  

FILLING OUT THE     

DECLARATION? 

CALL THE ASSESSOR’S OFFICE! 

We are here to help you.  Please do not wait until you 
receive a tax bill to call the Assessor.  As a new     
business, if the Declaration Schedule is not returned 
AT ALL the Assessor’s Office will assign a value to 
your personal property based on the value of similar 
businesses. This is called a BIA or “Best Information 
Available” value and the business will be taxed on this 
amount.   

Our phone number is 970-453-3480. 

I  SENT IN THE DECLAR ATION 

BY APRIL 15TH, NOW WHAT? 

On June 15th the  Assessor’s Office will mail you a 
“Notice of Value” which will show the total taxable 
value determined from the list you submitted on 
the Declaration Schedule. 

WHAT IF THE VALUE IS WRONG? 

If you do not agree with the value on the Notice of 
Value, you may submit a protest to the Assessor’s 
Office.  The protest should  include information to 
support your opinion of the value.   

The protest MUST BE IN WRITING to be   
considered and must be postmarked, emailed or 
hand delivered to the Assessor’s Office by the 

date provided on the Notice of Value.   

No later than July 10th the Assessor’s office will 
mail you a “Notice of Determination” to let you 
know what the decision is after reviewing your ap-
peal. 

IS THAT IT?  

No.  If you still don’t agree with the value you may 
appeal to the County Board of Equalization.  You 
must do so by July 20th (postmarked or hand   
delivered).  They will hear appeals towards the 
end of July  and a decision will be mailed to you 
within 5 working days after August 5th.   

If you still disagree you may appeal to the Board of 
Assessment Appeals.   


