Upper Blue & Joint Upper Blue

Upper Blue & Joint Upper Blue Master Plans

The Joint Upper Blue Master Plan, used in combination with the Countywide Comprehensive Plan, provides overarching guidance for land use and development decisions in the Upper Blue Basin. The plan was adopted in 1997 and updated in 2011 by Summit County, the Town of Breckenridge and the Town of Blue River. This joint plan provides general policy guidance but does not address specific issues, such as mapping of appropriate land uses.

Summit County's Upper Blue Master Plan supplements the policies of the Joint Upper Blue Master Plan. Issues addressed in the Upper Blue Master Plan include mapping of appropriate land uses, mapping and protection of significant summer and winter routes and trails, and mapping of visually important landscapes.
The Upper Blue Basin is defined by Dillon Reservoir on the north, Hoosier Pass on the south, the Continental Divide on the east and the Tenmile Range on the west. (All links below open in a PDF format.)