DocumentThe Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has identified more than 1,000 properties in Summit County as being located in a regulatory floodplain.

This designation has important implications related to flood insurance requirements, flood insurance rates, property sales and obtaining mortgages from federally regulated or insured lenders.

To view flood maps for any jurisdiction inside Summit County, use the FEMA Flood Map Service Center.

More Information
For more information and background, visit FEMA's flood hazard mapping program. Also see FloodSmart.gov, the official site of the National Flood Insurance Program, including its page on the basics of flood insurance.

If you have questions, contact the local floodplain administrator for the jurisdiction in which your property is located:

  • Town of Breckenridge: Shannon Smith, 970-453-3196
  • Town of Frisco: Bill Gibson, 970-668-9121
  • Town of Silverthorne: Susan Pearson, 970-262-7354
  • Unincorporated Areas of Summit County: Robert Jacobs, 970-668-4212